top of page
Search
  • Shintaro Yano

The Transition of Population and Births in Tokyo


First, I searched for information on changes in Tokyo's population and births online. I found and used data on population and births in Tokyo published by the Bureau of Social Welfare and Public Health of the Tokyo Metropolitan Government. Data from 1900 to 2019 were used.



I used the two-line graph in order to make it easier to visually understand the changes in transition. In addition, in order to compare two values with different numbers of digits in terms of growth rate and change, I set the different axes for each value.



In my research, I found that while the population of Tokyo has increased more than fivefold in the past 100 years, the number of births has declined significantly since 1971. There is a phenomenon of population concentration in Tokyo. Although the birth rate is not high, the population of Tokyo is growing every year as people from rural areas move to Tokyo. From this situation, we can read about the depopulation of rural areas and the aging problem in Tokyo.

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page